Google+ more


Press Release Date 
Tuesday, November 9, 2004


The Tech Museum Awards Program, global sponsors, and 25 laureates from Australia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Canada, India, Guatemala, Nepal, Nigeria, Singapore, The United States and Uruguay. The evening's emcee will be CNBC's Bill Griffeth, host of "Power Lunch." WHAT:

Unlike any other event in Silicon Valley, The Tech Museum Awards celebrates the power and promise of technology to address global challenges and benefit humanity. Five of the laureates will split a $250,000 cash prize at this unique event. WHERE:

The Tech Museum of Innovation
201 South Market Street
San Jose, CA 95113

Wednesday, November 10, 2004 (Noon – 1:00 p.m.) Opportunity for press to meet the Laureates, preview their projects, and interview senior executives involved in the program (The Tech Museum, The United Nations, Santa Clara University, Applied Materials, Inc, others). RSVP REQUIRED BY MEDIA INTERESTED IN ATTENDING
Wednesday, November 10, 2004 5:30 p.m. Awards Gala Reception 7:00 p.m. Awards Gala Dinner/Presentation Black-tie awards gala hosted by The Tech Museum of Innovation. 1,300 guests comprising technology industry executives, philanthropists and other guests. RSVP REQUIRED BY MEDIA INTERESTED IN ATTENDING WHY:

Through The Tech Museum Awards, Silicon Valley is making an investment in global innovation. The Tech Museum Awards were inspired by the development goals set by The American Council for The United Nations University in 2000. This spirit of innovation and commitment to global betterment inspires a new generation of socially conscious leaders. In turn, these international leaders will continue to leverage technology as a tool to improve the human condition globally. Launched in 2001, The Tech Awards are committed to showcasing the compelling stories of 25 Laureates and reward their brilliant accomplishments. The Tech Awards foster and inspires breakthroughs in science and technology that address humanity's most pressing problems. MEDIA CONTACTS:

Michael Barash


Tony Santos
The Tech Museum of Innovation
408-795-6226 MORE INFORMATION:

Available below and at The 2004 Tech Museum Awards Laureates:

Intel Environment Award -- Developing or using technologies that conserve and protect our planet's ecosystems:
• Dine' Citizens Against Ruining our Environment (Dine' CARE), Durango, United States
• Frost Protection Corporation, Montevideo, Uruguay
• David Kuykendall and Jim Hunter, Agricultural Research Service, USDA, Beltsville, United States
• Dr. Kenneth Owens, Jr. and Paul Burgess, Humboldt State University, Arcata, United States
• Shidhulai Swanirvar Sangstha (SSS), Dhaka, Bangladesh

Accenture Economic Development Award -- Providing innovative technology solutions to overcome significant barriers to economic development in non-industrial countries:
• Centre for Development of Disadvantaged People, Chennai, India
• Grameen Foundation USA - Grameen Technology Center, Seattle, United States
• Indigenous Stock Exchange, Barrengarry, New South Wales, Australia
• International Development Enterprises-International, Lakewood, United States
• Dr. Bir Bahadur Singh, Kano, Nigeria

The Microsoft Education Award -- Delivering technology applications that remove barriers to education such as computer and Internet access, infrastructure problems, language, and poverty:
• Baruch College Computer Center for Visually Impaired People & Touch Graphics, Inc., New York City, United States
• DonorsChoose, New York City, United States
• iEARN-USA, New York City, United States
• Andrew E. Lieberman, Asociación Ajb'atz' Enlace Quiché, Santa Cruz del Quiche, Guatemala
• National Society for Earthquake Technology - Nepal, Kathmandu, Nepal

Agilent Technologies Equality Award -- Using technology to overcome human rights violations and improve the local democratic process:
• Rodrigo Baggio, Committee for the Democratization of Information Technology-CDI, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
• CARE, San Francisco, United States
• Engineers Without Borders, Toronto, Canada
• NetHope, San Jose, United States
• Whirlwind Wheelchair International at San Francisco State University, San Francisco, United States

Affymetrix Health Award -- Applying effective surgical techniques, vaccination programs, drug development strategies and human genome-based information to improve the safety of health care in marginalized communities and the rest of the world:
• Fritz Institute, San Francisco, United States
• Dr. Ashok J. Gadgil, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, United States
• Integrated Medical Systems, Inc., Signal Hill, United States
• SATELLIFE, Inc., Watertown, United States
• Singapore Infra-red Fever Screening System (IFSS) Team, Defense Science & Technology Agency, Singapore Technologies Electronics, Ltd., Chartered Electro-Optic, Singapore