The Tech in Kenya

Due to the recent situation in Kenya, officials have advised The Tech Challenge Kenya team not to hold any large events. Unfortunately, this means we will be postponing The Tech Challenge Kenya showcase. We will be announcing new dates once we have confirmed with our Kenyan partners.

Back in Kenya!

Since 1986, thousands of students in Silicon Valley have participated in The Tech Challenge, an engineering education program where students form teams and build a device to solve a real world problem. In June of 2023, The Tech successfully hosted the first-ever Tech Challenge showcase event in Kenya - and we’re back!

Through The Tech Challenge, participants spend months collaborating and becoming deeply engaged in the challenge while documenting their process and designs. The program culminates in an inspiring two-day showcase where teams put their solutions to the test in front of judges.

The 2024 Challenge: Kuvuka Mabonde - Rock the Ravine

Ravines and valleys are a beautiful part of the landscape, but crossing them can be a challenge. In 2016, in Burgei in Nakuru county, heavy rains caused a bridge to collapse. The community lost their access to a nearby ward and students couldn’t cross over the rushing river to get to school. Engineers needed to quickly design a safe way to get across.

Your team’s mission is to create a device that can help people overcome a similar obstacle: crossing a ravine safely.

Rules  Mini Design Challenges

Sponsor

About Us

Shital Patel
Director of Kenya Expansion
spatel@thetech.org

Sherry Burch
Director of Educational Resources
sburch@thetech.org

Supporter Opportunities

Winfred Njeri (Kenya/EMEA)
The Tech Challenge Corporate & Government Liason
wnjeri@thetech.org

Elissa Stankiewicz (USA)
Director of Strategic Philanthropy
estankiewicz@thetech.org

Judge Training Inquiries

Stephanie Buggs
STEM Education Partnerships Manager
sbuggs@thetech.org

Volunteer and Judge Opportunities:

Milo Fedane
Project Administrator
mfedane@thetech.org