Executive Team


Katrina Stevens
President and CEO

Email Katrina



Katrina Stevens is the President and CEO of The Tech, where she is dedicated to creating inspiring and impactful learning experiences for young people around the world.  She is the first educator and first woman to lead The Tech. 

Before joining The Tech, Stevens was the Director of Learning Science at the Chan Zuckerberg Initiative, where she oversaw a $200 million portfolio of 67 grants to improve learning, especially for young people who face the most serious obstacles to success.

Stevens was appointed by the Obama Administration to serve as the Deputy Director and Senior Adviser in the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Educational Technology. There, she led the Future Ready Schools movement to help district leaders implement best practices in digital learning, oversaw education innovation clusters, rapid cycle evaluations, developer outreach, and the National Education Technology Plan.

Stevens is a magna cum laude graduate of Temple University with a bachelor’s and master’s degree in English literature and composition. Prior to her government work, she worked as an educator in various roles, including as a classroom teacher, department chair, program director, and interdisciplinary curriculum leader. She also co-founded #edtechchat, the first Twitter chat for education technology, and has consulted with education startups, foundations, and nonprofits while serving on multiple boards and advisories.

In her free time, Stevens loves hiking, baking, and writing, and is passionate about otters and "So You Think You Can Dance." She resides in San Carlos with her partner, Chip, and their Covid rescue dog, Clover.

Read Full Bio

Executive Team members

Natalie Alvanez-Taylor

VP, Marketing & Sales



Erica Barrueto

VP, Learning

Doris Bell

VP, Operations

Sean Washington

Head of People, Culture, Community


Senior Leadership

Lolita Acay

Sales and Special Events Director

Kelly Castellón

Associate Vice President, Development

Kristen Martin Lai

Sr. Director of Interactive Learning Programs

Patrick Letellier

Senior Director, Foundation and Government Relations

Brandon Lewke


Abby Longcor

Senior Director, The Tech Challenge

Christina O'Guinn

Sr. Director, Educational Partnerships

Shital Patel

Director, Kenya Expansion

Dan Ruth

IT Director

Jorge Sua

Director of Engineering

Krista Thomas

Senior Director, Brand Marketing

John Vieira

Senior Director of Design and Production

Prinda Wanakule

Senior Director, Inclusive Research, Development, & Impact Measurement


Development Team

Go To Contact Info


Board of Directors


Mala Anand

Marimo Berk
The Creekside School

Cindy Chavez
Santa Clara County Board of Supervisors – District 2

Gloria Chen
Adobe Systems, Inc.

Juan Cruz
Franklin-McKinley School District

James C. Deichen
SunTrust Robinson Humphrey (ret.)

Christopher S. DiGiorgio
Former Board Chair
Accenture (ret.)

Mohana Dissanayake
Chair, Audit Committee

Carl Eschenbach

Sabrina Farmer

Aymeric Gisselbrecht
Tsavorite Scalable Intelligence

Shikoh Gitau

Raquel Gonzalez
Bank of America

Bill Heil

John Heinlein, Ph.D.

Gerald D. Held, Ph.D.
Board Chair
The Held Group

Kate Hogan

Shannon Hunt-Scott
The Scott Foundation

Joe Kava

Tina Knauss
Chair, Finance Committee
Knauss Consulting LLC

Randy Krenzin, CFP
Morgan Stanley

Patrick McGovern
Patrick J. McGovern Foundation

Lisa Millora
San Francisco Bay University

Jody Mortimore

Omkaram (Om) Nalamasu, Ph.D.
Applied Materials

Janine Pelosi

Daniel Perez

Matthew Sapp
Vice-Chair; Chair-Elect

Lindo St. Angel

Katrina Stevens
President & CEO
The Tech Interactive

Ken Washington

Sean White, Ph.D.

Steve Young